Visual and Performing Arts Resources in the United States

 

The following resources have been compiled to provide users with starting points in exploring the richness of the Arab cultural and artistic output. It is by no means a comprehensive listing of resources, but rather a sampling of websites that are informative, interesting and ultimately, only partially representative of the vast creativity and beauty of the artistic Arab world.  While certainly many of these arts draw on centuries of artistic traditions, the focus here is predominantly on contemporary visual and performing art, with a special emphasis on Palestinian contributions.

 

 

Arab American Artist Websites

 

Rajie (Roger) Cook: www.rajie.org
Nihad Dukhan: www.ndukhan.com

Samia Halaby: www.art.net/~samia/samia.html
John Halaka:  www.johnhalaka.com

Nabila Hilmi: www.foundry-gallery.org/Hilmi/hilmi.html

Emily Jacir:  www.alexanderandbonin.com

Zahi Khamis: www.zahiart.com
Sari Khoury (deceased): www.khouryart.org

Leila Kubba:  www.leilakubba.com
Samer Kurdi: www.samerkurdi.com

Rania Mattar: www.raniamatar.com

Nabil Muaadi:  www.absolutearts.com/portfolio/n/nabeel/
Said Nuseibeh: www.studiosaid.com
Fayeq Oweis: www.oweis.com
Mohamed Zakariya: www.zakariya.net

Helen Zughaib:  www.hzughaib.com 

Afaf Zurayk:  www.afafzurayk.com 

Mona El-Bayoumi:  www.monaart.com

Khalil Bendib: www.studiobendib.com

Doris Bittar:  www.dorisbittar.com

 

Arab-American Cultural Centers, Arts Organizations and Foundations

 

The Arab Cultural and Community Center, San Francisco.  www.arabculturalcenter.org

Arab American Cultural Center of Silicon Valley, San Jose. www.arabcentersv.org

The Arab-American Cultural and Community Center, Houston. www.acc-houston.com

The Arab Center of Washington, Seattle. www.arabcenter.net

Alif Institute, Atlanta.  www.alifinstitute.org

Arab Community Center for Economic and Social Services. Detroit. www.accesscommunity.org

Mosaic Foundation, Washington, DC.  www.mosaicfoundation.org

Palestine Heritage Foundation. West Caldwell, NJ. www.palestineheritage.org

Zenith Foundation, London, UK.  www.zenithfoundation.com

Arab-American Cultural Institute. www.aaci-us.org

Zawaya. www.zawaya.org

 

 

Film Resources

 

First Run/Icarus Films. www.frif.com

Arab Film Distribution. www.arabfilm.com

Women Make Movies. www.wmm.org

Third World Newsreel. www.twn.org

mec film (Middle Eastern Cinemas). www.mec-film.de

Falafel Daddy Productions. www.philistinefilms.org

Dreams of a Nation. www.dreamsofanation.org

Filmakers Library. www.filmakers.com

RayMar Educational Films. www.raymarfilms.org

Zeitgeist Films. www.zeitgeistfilms.com

Sindibad Films. www.sindibadfilms.co.uk

Chicago Palestine Film Festival.

San Francisco Palestine Film Festival.

 

 

Galleries and Museums in North America

 

The Jerusalem Fund Gallery Al-Quds. www.thejerusalemfund.org/gallery

Alwan for the Arts. www.alwan.org

Sudan Artists Gallery (virtual). www.sudanartists.org

The Arab American National Museum. www.aanm.org

The Freer-Sackler Gallery. www.asia.si.edu

The International Museum of Muslim Cultures. Jackson, MS. www.muslimmuseum.org

 

 

Galleries and Museums in the Arab World

 

Darat al Funun, Shoman Foundation.  Amman, Jordan.  www.daratalfunun.org

Jordan National Gallery of Fine Arts.  Amman, Jordan. www.nationalgallery.org

Sharjah International Biennial.  Sharjah, UAE. www.sharjahbiennial.org

Cultural Foundation, Abu Dhabi, UAE. www.cultural.org.ae

Sharjah Art Museum, Sharjah, UAE.

 www.sharjah-welcome.com/html/ch_art_museum.htm

Al Mansouria Foundation, Saudi Arabia.  www.almansouria.org

A.M. Qattan Foundation.  www.qattanfoundation.org

Khalil Sakakini Cultural Centre Foundation. www.sakakini.org

Al-Ma’mal Foundation for Contemporary Art. Jerusalem.  www.almamalfoundation.org

The Paltel Virtual Gallery. Birzeit, Palestine.  http://virtualgallery.birzeit.edu

Townhouse Gallery of Contemporary Art. Cairo, Egypt.  www.thetownhousegallery.com

Ashkal Alwan.  Beirut, Lebanon. ashkalalwan@terre.net.lb

 

 

Online Resources for Artists

 

Mizna, Inc. www.mizna.org

Al Jisser. www.aljisser.org

Resistance Art. www.resistanceart.com

ArteEast, Inc. www.arteeast.org

Arab Art Resources and Training (AART). www.aart.ws

Cultural and Visual Arts Resource/International Council for Women in the Arts. Icwa2@aol.com

ArtSchool Palestine. Ramallah, Palestine and London, UK.  www.artschoolpalestine.com

Al-Jadid. www.aljadid.com

 

 

Comedy

 

Amer Zahr www.amerzahr.com

Maysoon Zayed. www.maysoon.com

Dean Obeidallah. www.deanobeidallah.com

Aron Kader. www.aronkader.com

Ray Hanania. www.hanania.com

Ahmed Ahmed.  www.ahmed-ahmed.com

New York Arab-American Comedy Festival. www.arabcomedy.org

 

 

Theater Groups

The Ajyal Theatrical Group.  www.arabamericantheater.com

Arab Theatrical Arts Guild (ATAG.)  www.arabtheater.org

Golden Thread Productions. www.goldenthread.org

Nibras. www.nibras.org

Silk Road Theatre Project. www.srtp.org

 

Music Resources

 

Al Kamandjati www.alkamandjati.com/en/home/

The Edward Said National Conservatory of Music www.ncm.birzeit.edu/en

 

Traditional Palestinian Arts and Crafts and other Palestine-themed Goods

 

Palestine Children’s Welfare Fund. www.pcwf.org

Palestine Online Store.  www.palestineonlinestore.com

United Palestinian Appeal. www.helpupa.org

Mashrabiya. www.mashrabiya.com

Sunbula. www.sunbula.org

Palestine Embroidery Project.  202-244-2753

Sabeel. www.sabeel.org